Looking at life through the lens

Holiday Wishes

This was my first serious attempt at taking fireworks pictures. In the past I have pointed my camera at fireworks with some marginal results, but this time I had my camera on a tripod (Manfrotto Compact Travel Tripod) and used a remote shutter release. I did not, however, use the widest angle lens setting which was available to me (brain freeze) and that cost me many good shots.

All photos were taken from the train station in the Magic Kingdom at Walt Disney World with the following settings.

Aperture: f/11
Shutter speed: bulb (actual exposure times listed with each photo)
ISO: 100
Lens: Nikkor 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 AF-S DX VR
Focal length: 48 mm
Nikon D3100
© Mark L. Fendrick

Shutter speed: 4.1 sec. on bulb setting

Shutter speed: 4.0 sec. on bulb setting

Shutter speed: 6.9 sec. on bulb setting

Shutter speed: 4.0 sec. on bulb setting

Shutter speed: 11.0 sec. on bulb setting

Shutter speed: 3.4 sec. on bulb setting

Shutter speed: 6.9 sec. on bulb setting

Shutter speed: 4.0 sec. on bulb setting

Shutter speed: 11.0 sec. on bulb setting

Shutter speed: 3.8 sec. on bulb setting

Shutter speed: 3.0 sec. on bulb setting

Comments on: "Holiday Wishes" (7)

  1. […] watch the nighttime parade and be all set up for the fireworks show which followed. I did get some wonderful shots, but I wasn’t happy with the location as it didn’t allow me to get what I wanted in the […]

    Like

  2. Happy New Year Mark! With more than a bang too.. Thea is right, these are magical! I’ve just about got daytime right so, it’s night, the tripod & remote to work on next! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. These are wonderful photos! I am not a photographer – I can only “point and shoot” but I do appreciate the talent in others. Keep practicing the fireworks shots, and sharing the results with us. Your photos help me feel the Magic when I’m away from the World.

    Like

  4. I told you before but I’ll say it again…these photos are stunning!
    I was wondering if you used a tripod.
    I think that’s the next thing on my wish list. 🙂

    Like

    • I have had an old tripod that is over 30 years old, but it is heavy and clunky and I never could be bothered with taking it with me most of the time. I finally picked up a travel tripod … it folds to 18 inches and is very light, but still sturdy enough for my gear – which is the same as yours

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.